Wooden Nickel

New Release Round-Up 09-16-22

Fletcher - Girl Of My Dreams

Fletcher - Girl Of My Dreams - Capitol
Girl Of My Dreams is an up-close look at the moments of heartache, triumph and deeply transformative experiences on Fletcher's way to self-discovery. The new record expands on the boldly detailed storytelling she’s brought to hits like “Undrunk” and “Bitter.” This time around, FLETCHER reveals her inner world more fully and fearlessly than ever before, embracing the kind of uninhibited honesty that’s freeing for both artist and audience.

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced

Michelle Branch - The Trouble With Fever

Michelle Branch - The Trouble With Fever - Audio Eagle Records / Nonesuch Records
Created during the pandemic lockdown, The Trouble With Fever, co-produced with her husband, Patrick Carney, is Michelle Branch's fourth solo album and follows her critically acclaimed 2017 album, Hopeless Romantic. The time at home gave Branch the opportunity to stretch herself creatively. She says: "The album began during the 2020 lockdown, while Patrick and I were here at home in Nashville. I didn’t realize I was making a record at first — it was more just for our own sanity, living in a house with a toddler, getting time together to play music and screw around in the studio. I had some unfinished songs that I’d started during the Hopeless Romantic recordings that I wanted to revisit and finish."

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced

Little Big Town - Mr. Sun

Little Big Town - Mr. Sun - Capitol Nashville
Little Big Town release their brand-new studio album, Mr. Sun. This is their 10th studio album and first new music in over 2 years. It features their latest single, “Hell Yeah.” Little Big Town first entered the music scene more than 20 years ago. The band’s breakthrough albums, Tornado and Pain Killer, produced multiple #1 singles, including “Pontoon,” “Tornado,” and “Day Drinking,” as well as 2015’s history-making, best-selling country single of the year, “Girl Crush.” Their 2017 release, The Breaker, debuted at #1 on the Billboard Country Albums chart and #4 on the Billboard 200 to critical acclaim. “Wine, Beer, Whiskey,” was the latest from their self-produced 9th studio album, Nightfall, which also reached the top of the Billboard Country Albums chart and has garnered over 316 million global streams.

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced

Ondara - Spanish Villager No. 3

Ondara - Spanish Villager No. 3 - Verve Forecast
Spanish Villager No. 3 is the highly anticipated third studio album from Grammy-nominated artist Ondara. Featuring the single, "An Alien in Minneapolis," the album was produced by Ondara and Mike Viola.

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced

John Coltrane - Blue Train: The Complete Masters (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)

John Coltrane - Blue Train: The Complete Masters (Blue Note Tone Poet Series) - Blue Note Records
On September 15, 1957, John Coltrane went into Rudy Van Gelder's living room studio in Hackensack, New Jersey and recorded his first great masterpiece: Blue Train. It would be the legendary saxophonist's sole album as a leader for Blue Note, a locomotive five-track album fueled by the bluesy title track that featured a dynamic six-piece band with Lee Morgan on trumpet, Curtis Fuller on trombone, Kenny Drew on piano, Paul Chambers on bass, and Philly Joe Jones on drums. To mark the 65th anniversary of the album's recording, Blue Train will be released in two special editions as part of Blue Note's acclaimed Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series: a 1-LP mono pressing of the original album and a 2-LP stereo pressing of Blue Train: The Complete Masters which includes a second disc of alternate and incomplete takes, four of which have never been released before, and none of which have been available previously on vinyl. The 2-LP set comes with a bound booklet featuring session photos by Francis Wolff and an essay by Coltrane expert Ashley Kahn.

Video Available

Ringo Starr - EP3

Ringo Starr - EP3 - UMe
Ringo Starr's newest EP - cleverly named `EP3' - includes 4 new tracks featuring longtime collaborators Steve Lukather, Linda Perry, Dave Koz, Jose Antonio Rodriguez and Bruce Sugar. `EP3' is filled with Ringo's instantly recognizable vocals, feel-good lyrics and easy-breezy melodies.

Video Available


The Mars Volta - The Mars Volta
Marcus Mumford - (self-titled) [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Red Transparent LP]
Turin Brakes - Wide-Eyed Nowhere [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Pink LP]
Seether - Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum: Deluxe [Ghost Marble 3LP]
Ringo Starr - EP3
Miloe - gaps
Death Cab for Cutie - Asphalt Meadows [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Pink LP]
Taking Back Sunday - Tell All Your Friends: 20th Anniversary Edition [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Silver Smoke LP + Black 10in]
Dayglow - Harmony House
Dayglow - Fuzzybrain
Calvin Harris - Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 2
The Murlocs - Rapscallion
Samara Joy - Linger Awhile
The HU - Rumble Of Thunder
BlackPink - BORN PINK
Clutch - Sunrise On Slaughter Beach [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Smoke Purple LP]
Rhett Miller - The Misfit
The Devil Wears Prada - Color Decay
Lissie - Carving Canyons [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Opaque Tangerine LP]

& More .....

For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section.

Pin It
back to top