Wooden Nickel

New Release Round-Up 02-04-22

Hippo Campus - LP3

Hippo Campus - LP3 - Grand Jury
Minneapolis indie pop rebels Hippo Campus return with their third full-length, LP3. Their strongest and most complete work yet, LP3 is a freshly-inked portrait excavating young adulthood, identity and, more importantly, how that personal identity fits into a larger camaraderie.

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced

Bastille - Give Me The Future

Bastille - Give Me The Future - Republic
Give Me The Future, Bastille's wildly-ambitious new album, is a tribute to tech times and a glimpse of what could be to come. Exploring both the opportunities of new technology and the dark side of lives lived online, it’s as playful as it is thought-provoking, as dystopian as it is dancefloor-friendly and as electronic as Bastille have ever been. Executive produced by Ryan Tedder, Give Me The Future by Bastille will release this week.

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced

Paul McCartney And Wings - Wild Life: 50th Anniversary

Paul McCartney And Wings - Wild Life: 50th Anniversary - UMe
Following the eclectic charm and intimacy of 1970's solo McCartney and 1971's homespun lo-fi indie-pop progenitor RAM credited to Paul and Linda McCartney, Wild Life found Paul once again redefining his post-Beatles creative identity, this time beginning his tenure as a founding member of Wings. A rollicking left turn from its predecessors, Wild Life was recorded in barely more than a week, with more than half of the songs captured in a single take. The end result would be eight songs running the gamut from joyous freewheeling jams to proto-chamber pop to spare introspective musings — all bristling with a raw, jagged energy akin to the grungiest of garage bands—whether on the careening blues-rock rave-up of opener "Mumbo," a reggae-tinged reimagining of Mickey & Sylvia's "Love Is Strange," or the plaintive and heart wrenching ballad "Dear Friend." Indie Exclusive Limited Edition 50th Anniversary Half Speed Master LP

Video Available 


Black Country, New Road - Ants From Up There [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Blue Marbled 2LP] Video Available
Animal Collective - Time Skiffs [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Translucent Ruby 2LP] Video Available 

Korn - Requiem [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Milky Clear LP]
Mitski - Laurel Hell
Cate Le Bon - Pompeii [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Sun Yellow LP]
Erin Rae - Lighten Up
Mason Jennings - Real Heart
(Hed) P.E. - Califas Worldwide
Jennifer Lopez & Maluma - Marry Me O.S.T.
Wild Rivers - Sidelines
Venom Prison - Erebos [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Ivory LP]
Converge - You Fail Me (Redux) [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Red & Black Smoke LP]
Various Artists - West Side Story (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Dooms Children - Dooms Children [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Black w/ Yellow Splatter & Black w/ Blue Splatter LP]
Hollis Brown - In The Aftermath
Natalie Cole - Unforgettable...With Love [30th Anniversary Edition]

& More .....

For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section.


Eddie Vedder - Earthling

Eddie Vedder - Earthling - Republic
Earthling, the new album from Eddie Vedder, includes the tracks "Long Way," "The Haves," and more. It was produced by Andrew Watt and features special guest artists.

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced

Priscilla Block - Welcome To The Block Party

Priscilla Block - Welcome To The Block Party - Mercury Nashville
Priscilla Block draws listeners in with her unfiltered, relatable songwriting and catchy melodies. "I love writing about real-life experiences and the ups and downs that I've gone through," Priscilla says. "I don't sugarcoat anything, and I think that's the beauty of songwriting and being an artist. It's a little sass, a little trash and a little sad," she describes with a knowing wink as her catalog rolls easily from heartbreak to laughter. Features the Country radio hit, "Just About Over You."

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced

Boulevards - Electric Cowboy: Born In Carolina Mud

Boulevards - Electric Cowboy: Born In Carolina Mud - Normaltown Records
“I was born in the North Carolina mud,” says Jamil Rashad, better known as Boulevards, one of the most idiosyncratic artists making music in the Tarheel State. His fourth album, Electric Cowboy: Born In Carolina Mud, is caked in the soil where he grew up, mired in the muck of this place—not stuck but freed. Grounded in personal experience and haunted by personal demons, Electric Cowboy is an album that reaches out, that embraces the world, that mixes the confessional and the communal. But the dominant sound—the dominant mindset—is funk: gritty, warm, weird, charismatic. Rashad once again composed and recorded with Blake Rhein, guitarist for Durand Jones & the Indications, after they had worked so well together on 2020’s Brother! EP. They corralled an all-star team that included Adrian Quesada from the Grammy-nominated neo-soul act Black Pumas and Colin Croom from the Chicago indie-rock outfit Twin Peaks.

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced

Yusuf / Cat Stevens - Harold & Maude: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Yusuf / Cat Stevens - Harold & Maude: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack - A&M
Timed to coincide with the 50th anniversary of the landmark film's release, this new 180g LP version of the soundtrack combines nine Cat Stevens originals as well as - for the first time - additional dialogue and instrumental music from the film plus unheard audio masters for "Don't Be Shy" and "If You Want To Sing Out, Sing Out." All audio has been remastered at Abbey Road Studios. This new edition features enhanced packaging - liner notes, lyrics, transcription of movie dialogue, and photos.

Video Available 

Pin It
back to top