Proudly Serving Fort Wayne since 1982

Exodus - 40 [Super Deluxe Vinyl Box Set]


Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 07/14/2017
UPC: 602557591538

Exodus - 40 [Super Deluxe Vinyl Box Set]
Artist: Bob Marley & The Wailers
Format: Vinyl
New: Available to Order $124.98

Available Formats and Editions

More Info:

Bob Marley & the Wailers' classic Exodus album, the ninth studio album of the band, was released on June 3, 1977, featuring a new backing band including brothers Carlton and Aston 'Family Man' Barrett on drums and bass, Tyrone Downie on keyboards, Alvin 'Seeco' Patterson on percussion, and the I Threes, Judy Mowatt, Marcia Griffiths and Rita Marley on backing vocals, and newest member Julian 'Junior Marvin' on guitar. The album was released on June 3, 1977, just six months after an assassination attempt was made on Bob Marley's life in Jamaica in December, forcing him to flee to London, where Exodus was recorded. This June marks the 40th anniversary of Exodus named the 'Best Album of the 20th Century' by Time magazine in 1999 with a series of four separate reissues, three of which will feature Exodus 40 - The Movement Continues, son Ziggy Marley's newly curated 'restatement' of the original album. As part of the celebration, Ziggy Marley has intimately revisited the original session recordings, uncovering unused and never-before-heard vocals, lyric phrasing and instrumentation, incorporating and transforming these various elements into brand-new session takes. A Super Deluxe, four-LP, two-7' single vinyl version includes the original LP, Ziggy Marley's restatement Exodus 40 The Movement Continues, an Exodus Live set recorded at London s Rainbow Theatre the week of the album s release, Punky Reggae Party LP which includes a previously unreleased extended mix of 'Keep On Moving', and a pair of vinyl 7' singles, including 'Waiting in Vain' b/w 'Roots' and 'Smile Jamaica (Part One)' b/w 'Smile Jamaica (Part Two).' In celebration of the Exodus 40th Anniversary, fans who pre-order the Exodus 40 - The Movement Continues Super Deluxe edition via or will receive a digital download of the entire package as well as an exclusive Stephen Marley remix of the song 'Exodus' with a reimagined music bed and different lead vocalists on June 2nd in advance of the June 30th physical release date.